Home | 2011 | March

Monthly Archives: March 2011

Infosmack Podcast #92 – From HDS Bloggers’ Day 2011

Last week I took part in a special Infosmack recording at the HDS Bloggers’ Day.  You can find a link to the recording here, via The Register; http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/03/29/hds_storage_virtualisation_podcast/ Unfortunately we still didn’t have the Hu v Claus benchpress competiton, but hey…. In this picture are: Greg Knieriemen – @knieriemen Hu Yoshida Claus Mikklesen – @yoclaus Nigel Poulton – @nigelpoulton Devang ... Read More »

How To: Enable iSNS Server in Windows 2008

If you weren’t already aware, Microsoft Windows Server 2008 includes an iSNS (Internet Storage Name Service) as a standard feature.  You can install it by starting up Server Manager and clicking on the “Features” item in the Server Manager tree.  From there you can locate “Internet Storage Name Server” and install.  See the first screenshot highlighting the feature selection panel ... Read More »

Hitachi Bloggers Day 2011 – Part I

As previously mentioned, last week I attended the second HDS/Hitachi Bloggers’ Day, this year located at Sefton Park in the UK.  Setting the event on this side of The Pond (rather than requiring me to take a 10,000 mile round-trip) was certainly a benefit and I welcomed the lack of jet lag!  I suspect of all the attendees I had ... Read More »

Predicting the Future of IT

I’ve been reading a book called “The Mighty Micro” by a namesake of mine, Dr Christopher Evans, a computer scientist from the 1970s, who sadly died at the age of only 48, not long after his book had been published. I’m currently into the chapter discussing middle-term futures, which in this case refers to the years 1983-1990.  It’s interesting to ... Read More »

Storage Beers this week!

In a double whammy, we have two potential storage beers events happening this week. Tonight (sorry for the late notice), there will be a meetup at the Royal Oak in Windsor from 7pm (Tuesday 22nd), prior to the HDS Bloggers Day taking place Wednesday and Thursday.  The pub’s location can be found here: http://www.windsorpubco.co.uk/windsor_pub_contact.html On Thursday the event takes place ... Read More »

HDS Bloggers Day 2011

This week I’ll be attending the 2nd HDS Bloggers Day, to be hosted in the UK.  Apart from myself, there will be the following attendees: Devang Panchigar – @storagenerve – www.storagenerve.com Greg Knieriemen – @knieriemen – www.iknerd.com Nigel Poulton – @nigelpoulton – www.nigelpoulton.com Jason Boche – @jasonboche – www.boche.net/blog/ Fabio Rapposelli - @fabiorapposelli – www.juku.it/en/ Enrico Signoretti – @esignoretti - www.cinetica.it/blog/ Ilja Coolen – @icoolen ... Read More »